HAPPY NOTHING NEW YEAR – SUGAR BE GONE!

Bye now.

Bye now.

Happy Nothing New Year and welcome to my new blog!  I hope you are rested and ready for what 2014 will bring you…may you find joy in the process and learning in the progress!

I am starting this blog now to ramp up for my Semester at Sea Voyage this summer…a new book is in the works. “Nothing New at Sea” will track how I (we) stay lean and green on the ship and in the various ports will be visiting.  10 countries in 66 days – England, Spain, Portugal, Scotland, Ireland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, Finland, and Poland. I’ve already started packing!  More to follow…

I watched “Eat, Pray Love” and “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” last night (back and forth between commercials) and got more convicted to make some big changes this year…starting with a month-long challenge to eliminate processed sugar from my house/frig/diet/life. I crave sugar (as in seek out, desire, want, think about, dream about, need) so Step One was to get all the sweet stuff out of mind, out of sight and out of house.

So far so good…it has been 5 hours.

Started the purging last night – bagged up the candy canes, peppermint patties, dark chocolate M&Ms (oh, I got a little teary there) and nonpareils – will hand those over to my baking expert neighbor so she can put them to good use. Put all the sweeteners away – honey, agave syrup, maple syrup, sugar – and rewarded myself with a latte (decaf, Wegman’s Unsweetened Organic Almond Milk and a sprinkle of cinnamon). Released a few items with love down the drain to do this deal 100% – the last inch of sweetened almond milk and the chai latte mix. Tidied up the frig and pantry – placed all the other items with sugar and/or the evil high fructose corn syrup on the bottom shelf  including my delicious homemade (if I may say so myself – thank you) granola with brown sugar and maple syrup, and strawberry jam. Ouch.

Wish me luck – the true test will be my sweet tooth danger spots – after every meal or snack and in the morning, afternoon and evening. Hmmm. Ultimate goal is to have more energy, feel more positive and focus on what food really tastes like…

What can you do for a month?

Have a Nothing New Day! ~Kristin

3 thoughts on “HAPPY NOTHING NEW YEAR – SUGAR BE GONE!

  1. I am going to limit my shopping for food and toiletries, etc. to once a week. I will not starve considering that I have a frig, freezer and pantry full. It may require some creative meal planning and it will save time and money. Shop less and carry on.

  2. Hey Lady! I love your no sugar journey – you can do it! I think I am going to work on really trying to be aware of buy new clothes! So glad you started a blog!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

