IF EVERYTHING’S IMPORTANT THEN NOTHING’S IMPORTANT

 

Carrot Ginger Soup

Carrot Ginger Soup

This month I made it a priority to reduce my refined sugar intake. A few more days to go and I’m feeling like I really changed my habits around sweetening my food and rewarding myself (every day!?) with desserts and sweets. The deliberate efforts have carried over to other areas – a reward in itself!

I have learned in a relatively short amount of time, to maintain some discipline and really regulate what I am eating – portion control for one and REALLY tasting my food for another (without the added sweetness)…and actually sitting down to eat.  Yes, I am a Stand Up Eater.  I am not sure how it started but it is an easy habit to get into and a hard one to quit. It fosters other bad habits like multi-tasking – cooking/talking on the phone, computer/talking on the phone, tv/talking on the phone/computer, talking on the phone/laundry/brushing teeth….everything I NEVER want to be…a slippery slope and a slow fade into the depths of multitasking h–l.

It also fosters other B-A-D procrastination habits – you know what I am talking  about.

That said, I see no problem with having the laundry going while the dishwasher is going while the carrot soup is melding on the stove while I write this blog – that is expert ninja planning. The problem arises when a project I could/should tick off my list stays ON the list for days/weeks/years. “Write book”, “do taxes”, “clean house”.  I am steadily learning to break those tasks down small enough to check them off daily. And tolerating less of the old way to make way for the new and better. Others have mastered this skill much earlier in their lives than I and I admire that.  I have to work extra hard to do this.

You see, I have a focus problem (really?) and apparently enjoy starting a task, moving on to say, 5 more without finishing them and then circling back to the first task…eventually. It is an attempt to make “Everything Important” – in that it is hard to be working to finish one project when the other ones float around my mind demanding attention.  The project to project to project process seems productive on the surface….underneath it fosters chaos. Good and bad, the rooms in my house have doors which means several projects hide behind those doors but because I can’t see them they are not really there.  I am a child.

See next blog post for more on “Tolerations” 🙂

Have a Nothing New Day! ~Kristin

One thought on “IF EVERYTHING’S IMPORTANT THEN NOTHING’S IMPORTANT

  1. “…enjoy starting a task, moving on to say, 5 more without finishing them…” That, apparently, is a family thing. Someone else in your genetic tree fort does the same thing.

Leave a Reply

