SPACE WITH SOUL

Baby Steps

Baby Steps

This is where I started in the office with A Thing A Day…20 minutes, then 20 more, then 20 more and then I could walk in without stepping over things..stuff…paper…why so much paper?

Now I am actually back IN my office, writing this from my office like a tiny little miracle. After about a year of this space being a hot mess and working all over my house except in my office, it is nice to be in here. This room is a little brisk in the winter but my desk is right in front of a north facing window looking our over my neighbor’s backyard. I like the view and the natural light. Dressing in layers is key November-May in this ol’ office space.

I get to see our weather move past me from West to East and can often see the rain and snow storms build in the North before they move up and over Lake Ontario. I have seen deer, foxes, squirrels, groundhogs, raccoons, rabbits, cardinals, bluejays, cats and children up and down my driveway and in my neighbor’s backyard.

Nice memories of that neighbor, Margaret, now passed and in her final resting place – a family plot in the cemetery right behind us. Her house was sold and is being renovated as a rental which feels weird. I met the new owner and he knew nothing about Margaret or the history of our street which made me sad.

I live in the house Margaret was born in and grew up in right next door, built in 1928 or 1913. (I vote for 1913). My office was her Dad’s bedroom. I have her childhood desk in my office now – I bought it at the estate sale. Margaret’s daughter Kathy tagged it for me to have – so lovely – she and I became friends over the course of time her Mom was sick and heading into her final days.

As a girl, Margaret had the bedroom at the top of the stairs and her desk was in the dormer window looking out over the front yard. Her grandparents lived in the house across the street and this land was an apple and pear orchard.

Back in the day, she was a Gardener – I think she was famous for it. She babysat neighbor kids, they mowed her lawn and later other neighbors helped her with house maintenance and upkeep. I learned so much cool history from Kathy as she was cleaning up and cleaning out her Mom’s house in preparation for the sale. There are stories here…

This old space feels fresh. Welcome Back.

Here’s to you Margaret.

~Kristin

2 thoughts on “SPACE WITH SOUL

  1. What a sweet tribute Margaret and all the history of your neighborhood.

    Nothing New wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com nothingnewnews posted: ” This is where I started in the office with A Thing A Day…20 minutes, then 20 more, then 20 more and then I could walk in without stepping over things..stuff…paper…why so much paper? Now I am actually back IN my office, writing this from my of”

Leave a Reply

