Lope

Lope

I was gifted this beautiful non-local, off-season (delicious) cantaloupe along with some other treats – a red pepper, a lemon and avocado…I accepted them all gladly with wide eyes…and a tiny little bit of guilt.

I work hard to eat seasonal/local so these goodies from 1400 plus miles away felt like cheating – like I had to get them into a brown paper bag and into the house as quickly as possible so no one would see.  So much for that now that I am telling you here on the World Wide Web.

I found myself rationalizing that because these were gifts I would be allowed to enjoy them. Plus, I didn’t want to disappoint the gift giver. Hmmm. Now there’s a blog post (or 7) waiting to be written.

The pepper and the avocado are half gone and I dipped into the lemon this morning for my water.  It feels luxurious to have these special foods and I am trying to make them last.

When these are gone, I will go back to enjoying NY apples,  NY grape juice and Fimka and Larry’s potatoes and onions…and last summer’s strawberries, peaches, blueberries, cherries, raspberries, green beans, pesto and  still in the freezer for just such a February as this.

Guess I had luxury at my fingertips all along…

Have a Nothing New Local Seasonal Day! ~Kristin

Leave a Reply

