CH CH CH CHIA….

Good for You

Good for You – Don’t Judge 🙂

I am working hard to prolong my life. Added exercise back in this week – such an obvious to get and stay healthy! I am back in the pool – yay – 3 x a week in the morning…Usually a new (renewed) habit take 3 weeks to engrain itself but after only a few times, I feel so much better – my gritty shoulders are looser and less grindy AND I had much more energy tis week…back on track.

Also doing continual work on my food – I had been taking flax seed oil as an Omega 3 source (I do not like Fish Oil, I do not like it Sam I am) but then it showed up as a probable goitrogen so I am limiting it…INSTEAD – adding Chia Seeds back in – yes THOSE Chia Seeds 🙂 Hemp seeds are another choice to but those are also on the “let’s not have a goiter list” – I know what you’re thinking – it is still everything in moderation 🙂

A 1 tablespoon serving of chia seeds has 2.9 grams Omega 3 fatty acid source and 3 grams of protein – which is less than flax or hemp but still a better choice for me. I sprinkle a spoonful into yogurt and oatmeal or make a “pudding” out of it with 1/4 cup of seeds and 1 cup of almond milk, maybe a little honey.  Ends up almost like a tapioca but with a little crunch that took some getting used to….also not too much at a time – chia seeds are really high in fiber!

More great info here with permission, from the “Foods for Long Life” blog by Joanne Momola, PhD.  She says, “Omega 3 is an essential fatty acid critical for heart health, brain development, reducing inflammation and joint pain, managing depression, preventing dry eyes, lowering cholesterol, controlling high blood pressure, protecting bone health and more. There are 3 types of omega 3 fatty acids, each of which are needed in the diet and have unique beneficial qualities….” She goes on to explain in detail – check it out!

http://foodsforlonglife.blogspot.com/2011/01/omega-3-power-seeds-chia-hemp-and-flax.html

I guess if I do everything I can – every meal, every lap, every day – I will hopefully be around for a while…

What are you doing to prolong your life?

Have a Nothing New Day! ~Kristin

 

 

Leave a Reply

