LIFE

Life

Life

I had to make some difficult phone calls today and was blessed on one of said calls with a customer service expert, Mrs. Cheatham. Kind, knowledgable, sympathetic. Right when I needed it and right when I am sure I least deserved it.

Earlier in the day, I allowed some stress to get in the way and I spoke unkindly to my cell phone service provider (under my breath – it slipped out and I am 99% sure she heard me – drats.) She was using all of my trigger words – “they”, “not our policy”, “I can’t promise you anything”, “out of my hands”, and “that is all I can do.” Each word/phrase ramped me up in an exponential way until I blurted out my unkindness. Not an illegal word, not a “bad” word…unkind nonetheless. About something that she could not change about herself.

So when Mrs. C was nice to me…I remembered my earlier interaction and I lost it…emotions of a long day, more snow, and The Menopause all swirled together in a hot mess. As we were working it all out and she was letting me have my “moment” she said, “You know what this is? THIS IS LIFE. Just something that happened. It’s no big deal. I’ve been in your shoes. This doesn’t matter in the big picture. Let it go”. And just like that I was better.

I will probably never talk to Mrs. C again or meet her in person so I promised I would pay it forward in some way soon. She talks to people all day long for a living yet still had the energy and the skills to talk with me like a friend. I want to be her. That one. The one who helps others, not a “they” or a “policy.” Sigh. When will I learn? Hopefully tomorrow!

This. Is. Life.

Who showed you a kindness today?

Have a Nothing New Day! ~ Kristin

One thought on “LIFE

  1. A good reminder we can all use.

    Nothing New wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com nothingnewnews posted: ” I had to make some difficult phone calls yesterday and was blessed on one of said calls with a customer service expert, Mrs. Cheatham. Kind, knowledgable, sympathetic. Right when I needed it and right when I am sure I least deserved it. Earlier in “

Leave a Reply

