MEMORIAL

Margaret the Baby Deer

Margaret the Baby Deer

My neighbor Margaret passed away a year ago today….and in the weeks and days she was leaving this place, we had a backyard visitor. This fawn was “dropped” by her mom in my backyard…of course I named her Margaret.

I took it as a sign – a reminder of the circle of life, (bitter) sweet beginnings, and often bitter (sweet) endings. I took it personally that Bambi’s Mother would choose me and my yard as a safe haven for her baby. Her perfect spotted, baby wonder.

I saw M four times before she went off on her own – I like to think that we bonded somehow – that she and her mom knew I could be trusted. We think it was her that came back around in the fall – marching (munching) right up to our hostas and strolling through our yards to eventually cross the street in search of more lunch.

I hope she survived our horrible Winter (I will not lament the hideousness) and dropped her baby somewhere safe this Spring.

And I hope that Margaret the Mother, Daughter, Sister, Friend is strolling a street somewhere….peaceful with birds, gardens, and open green space…rest well Neighbor.

~Kristin

One thought on “MEMORIAL

  1. Awww! How sweet!!!

    Nothing New wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com nothingnewnews posted: ” My neighbor Margaret passed away a year ago today….and in the weeks and days she was leaving this place, we had a backyard visitor. This fawn was “dropped” by her mom in my backyard…of course I named her Margaret. I took it as a sign – a remind”

Leave a Reply

