RIGHT TIME, BEST PLACE

Wake

Wake

Sunset - this never gets old...

Sunset – this never gets old…

I auditioned for our SAS TEDx event last night with a 3 minute preview of my Nothing New Year talk….and today I found out that I got IN!!!! I’m going to be 1 of 6 speakers at the August 5 event – TEDxSemesterAtSea – WOO HOO! More on that later….did I say Woo Hoo?! We were assigned two coaches – 1 faculty, 1 student – to help us prepare – pretty nice.

My faculty coach – Nancy Carr is a professional singer, actress and educator from San Diego. She is cool, smart, funny, beautiful, talented, happy…a new good friend I hope! Look forward to her feedback. Impressive bio: Phantom, The Buddy Holley Story and Summer of ’42 (all national shows) and loads of regional credits including, How the Grinch Stole Christmas and Singin’ in the Rain. On the ship, she is teaching History of Musical Theater – she and her ultra hip husband Geno are teaching Acting 101 together.

Shan Shan – my student coach – will give me fresh perspective as well….just getting to know her!

There was a July 4 reception in Glazer Lounge as we continued to sail to Scotland– nice! This lounge is on Deck 7 in the bow and only faculty, staff, lifelong learners and family are allowed…there is always complimentary coffee and tea in the morning and drinks for sale in the evening….I consider this to be Luxury-ville.

At the same time I am in utter appreciation for this experience, I am also missing home and my family today – just a twinge….Mom is at The Cabin over the 4th of July – my Auntie Norma’s cabin in northern WI where all is right with the world the second you drive down the dirt road and approach Lake Nebagamon…my brother and sis-in-law was and nephews are all healthy and happy but seeing their pics on Facebook makes me a little sad….It is just a matter of time before I will be living near them….soon! Plans are underway…this is the right time and the right place for me to be thinking and planning – The Giant Leap of Faith…leaving the wake behind…

What are you leaping over, around, under or through today?

Have a Nothing New Day! ~Kristin

 

Leave a Reply

