DAY 2 – HOW HAVE YOU BEAN?

Bean Spread and Roasted Peppers

Bean Spread and Roasted Peppers

Here is my first cranberry bean treat – I added some olive oil, salt and pepper to a scant cup of cooked beans and heated them up – mashed ’em with a fork and made a spread out of them – yum!  Added a little Wegman’s Spicy Green Sriracha (not local) and topped if off with some roasted peppers I had made this past week…delicious and filling. I bought the locally made bread (Baker Street Bakery – Park Ave in the ROC) from Red Bird Market in Fairport.  Life is good.

More recipes to come….

Oh, I am by the way, allowing some non-NY foods this month – grateful to have the means and access to these supplemental foods – now that I am vegan (since March 13, 2015 – Thank you Jeannett Manzanero at Palm Beach State College!) I am adding these items in to make it a little easier – other than these, I will be eating only NY fruit, veg, beans, bread, grains, & pasta/pasta sauce.

-Olive oil

-Coconut oil

-Spices

-Coconut and almond milk

-Vega brand protein powder

AND, when I travel, I will eat natural foods grown or made within 100 miles of where I am at the time – heading to PA a few times as well as IA this month – fun! I will bring a cooler of NY provisions when possible but when needed will Farm Stand It to get what I need for eats.

Hope you have BEAN able to rest a little today (note what I did there…bean instead of been)

Have a Nothing New Day! ~Kristin

PS – I canned peaches today – channeled my ancestors and honored the former residents of this old house, who I am guessing canned their share of peaches in this very kitchen.  Photos pending.

 

One thought on “DAY 2 – HOW HAVE YOU BEAN?

  1. Looks yummy!!

    Nothing New wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com nothingnewnews posted: ” Here is my first cranberry bean treat – I added some olive oil, salt and pepper to a scant cup of cooked beans and heated them up – mashed ’em with a fork and made a spread out of them – yum!  Added a little Wegman’s Green Siracha (not local – oops) a”

Leave a Reply

